Oddtoberfest 2014

Close to 100 Odd Fellows, Pledges and guests attended the October 11, 2014 OddtoberFest.


Davis Odd Fellows Visit Volcano Lodge

Seven members of the Davis Lodge visited the Historic Volcano Lodge #25 in Volcano, California on September 20, 2014, for annual meeting of the Historic Lodge.

Left to right: Janis Rosenberg, Dharmaveer Shetty, Deputy Grand Master Dave Rosenberg, Joel Mandel, Duff Devine, Jeff Munoz, Grand Master Tim Brown, Shannon McCall.


17 Members Initiated to the Davis Odd Fellows Lodge

On August 27, 2014, Davis Lodge #169 initiated the following 17 new members (8 men and 9 women) into the Order:

Kevin Cornell
Robert Dick
Beth Dovi
Bob Dovi
Michael Dufresne
Phyllis Himmel
Crystal Junge
Brett Lemke
Celine Livengood
Shannon McCall
Jeff Oblinger
Kathie Rose
Pat Rose
Donna Rutan
Janis Samms
Steve Wathen
Cathy Wilken

All 17 new Odd Fellows went through a six-month long process of learning about the Order and the Lodge, and getting to know the members, prior to initiation. Over 40 members of the Lodge, led by Noble Grand Lea Rosenberg, conducted the initiation. The new members range in age from 30 to 64. Their professions cover a wide spectrum including accountant, army officer, air quality inspector, bounty hunter, deputy district attorney, scientist, student and others.

The Davis Odd Fellows Lodge, one of the largest and most dynamic in North America, now has 230 members. The Davis Lodge conducts two initiations per year. The Lodge has already received 14 applications for membership for the next initiation in early 2015.

Front row seated on floor, left to right: Celine Livengood, Crystal Junge, Kevin Cornell, Janis Rosenberg

Standing, left to right: Bob Dovi, Pat Rose, Donna Rutan, Cathy Wilken, Beth Dovi, Mike Dufresne, Shannon McCall, Steve Wathen, Noble Grand Lea Rosenberg, Brett Lemke, Phyllis Himmel, Jeff Oblinger, Robert Dick.


50 Million Step Challenge Update

A few months ago, Dave Rosenberg challenged the Lodge to “walk  completely around Planet Earth”.  He challenged the Lodge, collectively, to walk 50 million steps – that is the equivalent of  25,000 miles, or approximately once around the earth at the Equator.  Dave asked Lodge members to keep track of their steps using pedometers, or fit-bits, or other step recording devices.  Sharla Cheney volunteered to keep track of the steps, and participants e-mail Sharla – typically once each week – with their total counts.  This challenge was made in good fun, but also as a way to promote good health.

The Lodge started with 50 Odd Fellows, Pledges and family members participating in the “50 million Step Challenge”.  Since that time, the number of participants has dwindled to about half that number.  Some report their steps to Sharla on regular basis, and Sharla has designated those regular participants as winners of the “Tenacity Awards”.  A few others report their steps sporadically.  The #1 leader in steps (with over 3 million) is Tim Carroll; Pledge Kathy Rose is #2 with over 2 million steps; and her husband Pledge Pat Rose is #3 with just a shade 
under 2 million steps; Juelie Roggli is #4 with over 1.6 million steps; and Bill Grabert is right behind at #5 with over 1.5 million steps. Several other participants are very close behind.

Winners of the Tenacity Awards are:

Tim Carroll
Ann Carroll
Sharla Cheney
Landy Black
Beth Dovi
Bob Dovi
Bill Grabert
Mary Mallory Rogers
Joel Mandel
Peter Pascoe
Juelie Roggli
Kathy Rose
Pat Rose
Dave Rosenberg
Lea Rosenberg
Chuck White
Diane Wilkinson

Total step count as of August 18, 2014 was 26,511,585.  We are over half way to our goal of 50,000,000 steps!

As we go into the final laps of our step count, we would WELCOME new participants (or welcome back original participants who got distracted).  Just send your weekly step count to Sharla Cheney at shcheney@gmail.com.  Help the Davis Lodge walk around the Earth.

Davis Odd Fellows Bingo Enters 8th Year

Davis Encampment At BingoThe Davis Lodge #169 Bingo Committee is entering its 8th year hosting live Bingo for the community. The Lodge Bingo Committee presents Bingo every month on the second Sunday, doors opening at 12 noon and Bingo beginning at 1 p.m., usually running till 4 p.m. Typically 60-90 members of the public travel to the Davis Lodge Hall to play Bingo. Winners of each game receive cash, up to $250 in the final “blackout” Bingo game.

In addition to the cash prizes to winners, the Davis Lodge Bingo Committee donates proceeds every month to a community group. Over the course of the year, the committee donates over $8,000 to these charitable and community groups, making it one of the major ways the Lodge supports the community.

Davis Bingo was the idea of long-time Lodge member Dave Rosenberg, who implemented it when he served as Noble Grand. Over the past seven years, it is estimated that Davis Bingo has contributed well over $50,000 to the community, plus afforded community members many hours of bingo fun. Davis Bingo has also developed a loyal following of players.

In addition to Bingo, the committee presents free door prizes to the players, instant win pull-tab games are available, and the committee runs a snack bar for participants.

Bingo at the Davis Lodge was approved, pursuant to the California statutory framework, by the Davis City Council. The Davis Lodge is the only entity in Davis permitted by law to operate real bingo with cash prizes.

Active members of the Bingo Committee include co-chairs Salie Yin and Eric Davis, and members Lea and Dave Rosenberg, Penny Smith, Melinda Hillis, Diana Schmiegel, Stewart Savage, Heather Barnes, John-Paul Montreuil, Janis Samms, Jeff Oblinger, Rick Gonzales, Crystal Junge, Diane Steele, and Robert Dick.

Taste of Davis 2014 – Simply Delicious

Over 300 members of the public crowded into both floors of the Davis Odd Fellows Lodge on April 24 to enjoy the 2014 version of “A Taste of Davis”. Twenty-two restaurants, wineries, breweries, and dessert houses featured their wares, and guests could sample from all tables. The Taste of Davis 2014 Committee was chaired by Lea Rosenberg and Dody Black. Committee members included Renee Liston, Joyce Puntillo, Christopher Young, Robin Souza, Margie Cabral, Dave Rosenberg, Amanda Maples, Heather Barnes, Jean-Paul Montreuil, Robin Dewey, Raquel Silva, Sheryl Cambron and Bill Grabert. Also helping out at the event were Jessica Sneeden and Sheila Bird (Renee’s sister). The beneficiary of part of the proceeds from the event was Davis Community Meals.

Pin It on Pinterest